2017 Driver of the Year (D.O.T.Y.)

See the Previous Driver of the Year Results page for results from previous years.

For results see

1R O'NeillNcD3003004975004995001802776
2B MunnsNcC4005033003035002006
3C Cotton*NbF3992525083191479
4G DavisNcD3004014981199
5M BlyfieldNcC300300121721
6J Armstrong*NbF300416716
7D Costello*NbB319319638
8R SmithNcC252300552
9G PfitznerNcC20417437
10I GearNcC398398
11K DavisNcD252120372
12I Pringle*NbF192120312
13S BarnesNcB300300
14R Ford*NbF252252
15N OatwayNcA100100
16P Atkins*NbE2020
T JewNcA
J Elvin*NbF
G JarrettNcA
M ForgieNcD
N TurnerNcF
R VanderkampNcA
R OliverNcA

Eligible Serge De Luca Cup Drivers are highlighted with *. Only Nb cars, Pre ’65 are eligible for this award.

For 2017 full points will be allocated to the following SA Race Meetings

  • E1 – State Rnd 1 Mallala 18th Feb
  • E2 – Anzac Historics Mallala 22nd 23rd April THR Cup (to be confirmed)
  • E3 – State Rnd 2 Mallala 10th 11th June
  • E4 – State Rnd 3 Mallala 19th 20th August
  • E5 – State Hillclimb Championship Collingrove 9th 10th Sept
  • E6 – State Rnd 4 Mallala 4th 5th November

For 2017  60% of points will be allocated to the following Interstate National Race Meetings

  • I1 – Phillip Island Historics March
  • I2 – Bathurst Easter April
  • I3 – Winton Historic May
  • I4 – Morgan Park August
  • I5 – Barbegello  Historics TBA
  • I6 – Muscle Car Masters October
  • I7 – Baskerville Historics October
  • I8 – Sandown Historics November


Driver of the Year (DOTY) points are calculated according to the following criteria:

  • Only South Australian cars and financial members will be included when the points for any event are calculated, however only financial members will be awarded points and therefore be eligible for the DOTY award.
  • Drivers will be given to the 31st of March in a given year to become financial. Once financial, points earned in the beginning of the year will then be back-dated and included in the DOTY. Points will not be back dated if membership is paid after the 31st of March.
  • The DOTY will be calculated using results from all nominated interstate and local events.
  • Interstate races will be awarded 60% of local races, that is each race contested will score the competitor 60 points for finishing the race, no matter the position.
  • Each Hill-climb event will score the same as a single race, 100 points
  • 20% of points are awarded for a DNF.
  • Assessment period to be within calendar year, Jan – Dec.
  • For events where online results may not be available, an entry list with times/positions shall be submitted.


Points are awarded based on a two stage formula.
Initial points are awarded based on outright position.

Outright Pos.Points
and so on996

The outright points are then multiplied by a percentage based on the the finishing position within the class.
The event points are divided by 10 and reported in the table above.

No. of starters1st2nd3rd4th5th6th7th

The above table if calculated by 101-((‘class position’*2)-‘total cars in class’)

The Serge De Luca Cup

The Serge De Luca Cup will be awarded to the Driver who has scored the greatest number of “Driver of the Year” DOTY points during the calendar year whilst driving an Nb car (pre 1965)