2016 Driver of the Year (D.O.T.Y.)

See the Previous Driver of the Year Results page for results from previous years.

Eligible Serge De Luca Cup Drivers are highlighted with *. Only Nb cars, Pre ’65 are eligible for this award.

E1 – THR Developments HTC Cup / Mallala All Historic 23-24th April
H1 – South Australian Hillclimb Championship September 16-18
E2 – Master of Mallala Rd4 12th Nov

For results see

1N OatwayNcA489100400989
2B MunnsNcC403220623
3R OliverNcA517517
4K DavisNcD511511
5J Armstrong*NbF504504
6G JarrettNcA502502
7J Elvin*NbF499499
8S BarnesNcB496496
9G DavisNcD494494
10J Atkins*NbE493493
11N TurnerNcF414414
12T JewNcA400400
13M ForgieNcD392392
14R O'NeillNcD388388
15B Costello*NbB236236
16R VanderkampNcA223223
17R SmithNcC217217
18C Cotton*NbF9999
19I GearNcC5959
20I Pringle*NbF1919


Driver of the Year (DOTY) points are calculated according to the following criteria:

  • Only South Australian cars and financial members will be included when the points for any event are calculated, however only financial members will be awarded points and therefore be eligible for the DOTY award.
  • Drivers will be given to the 31st of March in a given year to become financial. Once financial, points earned in the beginning of the year will then be back-dated and included in the DOTY.
  • The DOTY will be calculated using results from all 3 events.
  • Points will not be back dated if membership is paid after the 31st of March.
  • Assessment period to be within calendar year, Jan – Dec.
  • Points are awarded for each circuit race contested in SA.
  • For local meetings where result sheets may not be available, an entry list with times/positions
    marked and signed by those competitors shall be submitted.


Points are awarded based on a two stage formula.
Initial points are awarded based on outright position.

Outright Pos.Points
and so on996

The outright points are then multiplied by a percentage based on the the finishing position within the class.
The event points are divided by 10 and reported in the table above.

No. of starters1st2nd3rd4th5th6th7th

The above table if calculated by 101-((‘class position’*2)-‘total cars in class’)


20% of maximum points are awarded for a DNF..

The Serge De Luca Cup

The Serge De Luca Cup will be awarded to the Driver who has scored the greatest number of “Driver of the Year” DOTY points during the calendar year whilst driving an Nb car (pre 1965)